ACYA Introduces 15 New Members of Its National Executive Team In May 2024

Introducing ACYA's National Executive Team for 2024

ACYA Introduces 15 New Members of Its National Executive Team In May 2024

Welcome aboard to our new talents! ACYA is introducing fresh blood to its national executive team. The 15 new members, hailing from diverse backgrounds with abundant work histories, will serve in various capacities within ACYA, including media promotion, translation, IT support, publication, alumni affairs, career services, partnership maintenance, P2P, etc.

ACYA’s new national executive team members are:

Mackenzie Lang | President

Mackenzie Lang is the 2024 National President of the Australia-China Youth Association, previously serving as the 2023 National Secretary, 2022 Careers Director, and as Content Officer for three consecutive Australia-China Emerging Leaders Summit before that. He joined ACYA in order to contribute to the bilateral relationship and help provide opportunities for Chinese and Australians travelling and studying in each other's countries.

Victor Ruifeng Liang | Managing Director

Victor Ruifeng Liang is a MSc Contemporary Chinese Studies student at the University of Oxford ('24), and a graduate of the University of Sydney (Bachelor of Arts (Honours) Class I, Government and International Relations). Victor is ACYA's Managing Director, and has formerly been in the position of Australia Manager. Victor has also worked and interned in a variety of non-profit industry and academic organisations, including at the Australia China Business Council, Australian Institute of International Affairs, China Matters, and the University of Sydney's Journal of Chinese Tax and Policy. Victor looks forward to overseeing ACYA operations across Australia and China, and to further community and cultural engagement.

Josephine Zhang | Secretary

I have a keen interest in the Australia-China space, as reflected in my work and studies. As a journalist, my work in the media focuses on international business, Australian-Chinese business development, as well as connecting Queensland opportunities to the international stage. Now, as the National Secretary, I manage the operations within the organisation. I aim to encourage improved mutual understanding between the youths of Australia and China through fostering greater networking and education opportunities at a people-to-people level.

Angus Gilbert | Treasurer

I am excited to serve as the National Treasurer for ACYA, ensuring ethical and sustainable financial stewardship of all national and individual chapter initiatives. With a background in financial accounting and cross-cultural management, I have honed my passion for fostering strong ties between Australia and China through youth engagement and cultural exchange initiatives. During my time at university, I was fortunate to study abroad in China at Zhejiang University and Fudan University. Previously, I have also had experience in the Australia-China space at institutions including ACBC, Sino Immersions, and Austlink Education Group, which gave me exposure to the multitude of industries that foster the growth of Australia and China’s future.

Tony Zhen | Australia Manager

Hello, I'm Tony, I’m excited to start my second year at ACYA as the Australia Manager. My interest in the Australia-China relationship stems from my childhood in China, which has shaped my perspective and passion for bridging cultural gaps. Joining the Monash chapter of ACYA has further ignited my desire to have a greater impact in this area. Despite moving to Australia at a relatively young age compared to many of my friends, I have developed a deep connection with both countries, which fuels my commitment to promoting cross-cultural understanding.

Conor Gould | IT Director

I'm Conor, a software engineer with a background in web development, data analytics and machine learning. I grew up on the Gold Coast and graduated from Griffith University, where I undertook a New Colombo Plan Scholarship for studies at Beijing Foreign Studies University. As someone who is passionate about building stronger people-to-people links between Australia and China, I believe ACYA is a brilliant platform for connecting young people who share a similar vision. During my time as IT Director, I look forward to making improvements to ACYA's technology infrastructure and ensuring that our chapters receive the IT support they need to continue fostering connections within their communities.

Shailene Wei | China Manager

With a Master of International Business and a Bachelor of Commerce in Marketing and Finance from the University of Sydney, Shailene is currently working closely in FMCG and Sports industries between Australia and China. Shailene is passionate about helping clients achieve their digital marketing goals and overcome the challenges of cross-cultural communication and adaptation.

Sunny Lockett | People-to-People Director

As the current People to People Director of ACYA National, I am passionately committed to deepening the connections between young people across Australia and China. With a rich background in business development and event coordination at the Law Institute of Victoria and through my social enterprise, Bondaroo, I have crafted numerous engagement opportunities for international students. These experiences, centred around organising educational workshops and culturally enriching tours, have honed my ability to foster international relationships through a diverse range of events and experiences. At ACYA, I am eager to utilise this expertise to develop and lead iconic events that celebrate and enhance the Australia-China relationship, fostering mutual understanding and collaboration among the youth of both nations.

Crystal Zhao | Partnerships Manager

Hello everyone, I'm Yuqing Zhao 赵钰青, you can call me Crystal. Currently, I serve as the Partnership Director at ACYA. With eight years of experience living and studying in Australia, my journey has been marked by both academic pursuits and deep involvement in volunteer work. Starting with the Griffith Chinese Student Association Gold Coast, I organized various student activities, fostering a sense of community. Alongside my academic endeavors, I've actively participated in numerous large-scale events, driven by my passion for strengthening Australia-China relations and fostering collaboration between our nations.

Jiacheng Zhang | Translations Director

Hey there! I'm the translation director. My duties are focused on the selection and translation of texts, with the aim of maintaining their original discourse, settings and cultural connotations. I hold a Bachelor's Degree in International Relations from the University of Queensland and currently studying for a Master's Degree in the same field. As a Chinese studying in Australia, I undoubtedly hope to apply what I have learned to the improvement of relations between the two countries. This job is not only an exercise for me but also a practice of my ideal, the friendly and mutually beneficial relationship between China and Australia.

Priscilla Zhou | Media Director

Hello everyone! My name is Priscilla Zhou, and I am honored to serve as the new Social Media Director of the Australia-China Youth Association (ACYA). As a recent addition to the national management team, I am deeply committed to elevating ACYA into a renowned, authoritative, beloved, and trusted organization for young individuals passionate about fostering China-Australia relations.

Bringing with me 7 years of social media expertise gained in Canada, I am excited to leverage my skills to further our mission. My academic journey includes pursuing a Master's Degree in International Economics and Finance at the University of Queensland, which has provided me with a unique blend of economic insight and social media proficiency. At the same time, I also published a research paper on social media in the Chinese national journal “Money China” in 2024.

I hope that via the publicity of social media, more and more young people from China and Australia can know about this excellent community!

Mia Castagnone | ACELS Manager

I am currently in the role of Project Manager for ACELS17 2024! My journey with ACYA commenced during my time at the University of Sydney, where I had the opportunity to join its Chapter as P2P Director. I studied for a degree in media and communications, with a major in Chinese studies, and found myself compelled to connect with other students interested in the Australia-China space. During my time at university, I also had the chance to do an exchange at Fudan University in Shanghai. Since graduating in 2021, I have been living and working in Hong Kong as a journalist covering China's dynamic financial markets.

Liyin Zuo | Alumni Manager

I'm a dedicated professional with a passion for nurturing connections and creating opportunities for young professionals. Holding a Master's Degree in Art Curatorship from the University of Melbourne, I combine academic excellence with practical experience to serve as the Alumni Director for the Australia China Youth Association (ACYA). My previous role as a director of the ACYA Career Director introduced me to exceptional youth from both countries, strengthening my commitment to supporting personal and professional growth. As this year's Alumni Director, I'm excited to drive the development of projects tailored to young professionals, with a focus on engaging and connecting with ACYA Alumni. My vision is to foster a vibrant community of alumni who are empowered to make positive contributions to the Australia-China relationship.

Bob Fang | Publication Director

I'm Bob Fang, the newly appointed Publication Director of the Australia-China Youth Association (ACYA). Joining the national executive team, I'm committed to driving ACYA towards becoming a hub of professionalism, intellect, and creativity for young individuals passionate about Australia-China relations. My academic journey includes pursuing a Master's Degree in Art History and Curatorial Studies at the Australian National University. This educational background drives me to discover how Australians and Chinese interpret literature, visual art, history, and philosophy. I'm thrilled to embark on this journey with ACYA and look forward to the exciting collaborations and discoveries that lie ahead.

This year, ACYA Publication Sector initiated a new program aimed at publishing stories, prose, or any writing pieces created by students who are interested in Australia-China relations.

If you would like  to share your story with ACYA and want it published in our newsletter, please submit your writings to us via: Publications@acya.org.au